The Pop Scribe 10

In just 1 week the pop gods have blessed us with yet another stellar selection of killer pop. This week’s edition of The Pop Scribe 10 is all about newness, featuring a host of fresh new talent (for me, anyway) mixed amongst some old favourites. In case it wasn’t already obvious, this week is also the week of the mercurial, magnificent and downright MAGICAL Goldfrapp. Their new album Silver Eye is everything and more you can imagine from the Frapp returning to electropop in 2017 – thank the lawd.

The third edition of The Pop Scribe 10 includes:

  • 2 slices of Goldfrapp in earth-shattering electro mode
  • Becky Hill serving us VOCALS…and then some more vocals
  • The angelic cupcakKe blending sax with sass
  • Bleachers with an 80s pop anthem Brandon Flowers would kill for
  • Sofi de la Torre finding the melancholy in money
  • Calvin Harris bringing the heat with Young Thug, Pharrell AND Ariana (!)
  • Tei Shi soaring through sweet, shimmery pop
  • The Saturdays’ Vanessa White stepping convincingly towards solo stardom
  • Janine saying a spectacular NO to love



The Pop Scribe 10

After a 2-week break The Pop Scribe 10 is back back back! Things went a bit quiet after my first rundown of the best new releases in pop, but now I’ve got a brand new selection for you to feast upon. Making this second playlist was actually a bit more of a struggle than last time as the obvious pop bangerz seemed few and far between BUT, upon closer inspection, these past two weeks have gifted us with some subtly brilliant slices of pop from some unexpected places…

The second edition of The Pop Scribe 10 includes:

  • Zara Larsson perfecting both the sad AND ‘symphonic’ banger
  • (Clean Bandit providing the symphony)
  • Delightfully twisted pop from newcomer Billie Eilish
  • Blondie doing their best version of Blondie in 2017
  • Gorillaz returning with their classic Eastern-infused electro
  • A hazy tropical delight from Drake
  • Charli XCX (praise be) feat. Mura Masa
  • Icelandic troubadour Ásgeir on stunning pop form
  • Goldfrapp edging us ever closer to Silver Eye
  • The Sound of Arrows giving us LIFE


The Pop Scribe 10


It has been a truly mammoth week for pop: Steps reunited in spectacular form; Charli XCX dropped a 10-track mixtape/opus; Nicki Minaj appeared out of nowhere with 3 brand new tracks, ranging from standard to stunning …and that’s not even the half of it.

In the spirit of that ‘#FridayFeeling’ and because there are just too many great new pop tracks this week to remain unheard, I’ve compiled a 10-track playlist known as ‘The Pop Scribe 10’. The playlist collects my favourite pop cuts from the past week and will be updated weekly, bi-weekly or maybe even monthly depending on the state of things in Pop Land. The playlist isn’t in order of best to second best, but you can usually assume that the first track is a veritable masterpiece. I’m also a strong believer in playlists sequenced like albums, meaning STAY OFF THAT SHUFFLE button and enjoy the shift in tone and atmosphere. (You can, of course, enjoy the music however you please – it’s fine.)

The first ever Pop Scribe 10 includes: 

  • 3 appearances from Charli XCX in pop domination-mode
  • Steps well and truly pulling it out of the bag
  • ionnalee stepping out of the mystery of iam and into banger territory
  • A thrillingly dark and gnarly slice of new Goldfrapp
  • Louisa Johnson on her best behaviour, but also very much not.
  • Reflective, wooziness from Nicki Minaj
  • Lorde: the balladeer
  • Little Dragon channeling the sweeter side of the 90s


Anymore: a lesson in edging


‘I can’t wait, I can’t wait anymore’ – Alison Goldfrapp’s husky plea on the first taste of the duo’s seventh album Silver Eye is the perfect summation of how it feels to be a fan perched on the cusp of a new Goldfrapp era. Just a few days ago I was listening to Jacques Lu Cont’s hypnotic ‘Conversion Perversion’ remix of Twist and wondered if the Frapp would ever return to the scuzzy/slinky electropop first introduced on their (superb) second album Black Cherry. This got me thinking back to a school project I produced on that very album, in which teenage me had to decide whether it was appropriate to include said raunchy album art in the project:


A simpler time.

Anyway, teenage me would be delighted to hear that, as metamorphoses go, the Frapp’s new single Anymore is a delightfully chunky and enticing indication that Alison and Will have returned to their electronic roots. While the March 31st release date of the new album feels just that little bit out of reach, Anymore edges us a tiny bit closer to the sound of Goldfrapp getting their bite back. Alison’s always been a tease, but this time she’s got us begging for more.

Have a listen to the single below: